第二章: 朋友

友善的人结交朋友。你不需要成为外向的人才能表示友善。即使你发现接近人是一件困难的事,至少当有人对你说话时,你能对那人表示友善。当然不是所有的男女友情都可发展成浪漫的关系, 但友谊是个好的开始。友谊是个不受任何期望相互了解的机会。这个阶段涉及团体聚会 – 同时享受与朋友相处的时间。

 

这段经文鼓励我们想要拥有朋友的,需要保持友善。然而在一大群的团体中会发展出一小群更亲密的朋友。但重要的是不要形成小团体,去分享关于你自己,始终地开放结交新朋友。

问题

道出三种你会想在朋友身上见到的特质:

你可能会问

问题1

什么样的人我应该或不应该当成「朋友」?

答案1

成为朋友,可让我们有机会去了解对方。如果你是比较害羞的,周边的人可以为你作决定。但是,成为亲密的朋友后会带来互相的影响,可以是正面或负面的。所以一定要明智地选择。

 

我们会结交与自己有共同点的人,例如共同的价值观,喜好,想法,那人的幽默感及拥有令人敬重的态度。 一些好的共同点可以令我们被建立起来。但是,那人可能是会批评,嫉妒,报复他人的,这会为身边他们认为是朋友的带来负面的影响。

 

当我们结交朋友时,我们亦有机会遭到拒绝。这时候应知道神是我们最好的朋友。他是会为你着想的,亦会是最亲近你的。你不会是孤单一人的。他会为你准备好的朋友圈,在你适合的时机和地点,作这个人的选择。不需仓促决定。  

问题2

如果你们属于不同朋友圈的,你该如何建立友谊?

答案2

可以运用创意!

1. 可以请朋友帮忙但不要太明显。例如请他帮忙换位子;引用共同话题或兴趣。例如: 我等一下帮你介绍丽莎,她也喜欢那个乐团喔!

2. 建议双方的朋友圈举办联谊活动一起去玩。

3. 使用一些不会侵犯隐私权的方法去了解你所感兴趣的朋友。例如:社交平台- 看看对方的朋友及照片,便可知道你感兴趣的对方是一个什么样的人。

4. 认识他或她的朋友(他们会是一个很好的情报来源。也有可能让彼此更接近)

5. 询问其他曾经克服过类似情况的情侣的意见(有帮助的意见)

问题3

对于容易紧张,面对自己所喜欢的人时无法跟对方说话的这些人,你有何建议,如何让他们克服这些感觉?

答案3

大部分的人,即使是有自信的人,当面对心仪的人时也会感情紧张。紧张的的感觉是很正常和自然的。当我们紧张时,我们会跟平常反应得不同。有的人会变得话多,有的会变得沉默寡言。

 

如果你是紧张时会变得话多的人:

尝试向朋友提问时使用开放式问题,例如「为什么」和「如何」。这样他们便可回答更多。准备多一点这类的问题。

成为一个好的聆听者; 让别人有表达的机会; 亦需避免经常看手机。

 

如果你是紧张时会变得沉默寡言的人:

降低自己的期望,由建立友谊为目标开始。这样就可以减低个人的压力。面对自己的恐惧,去尝试跟那你心仪的人对话,每次都会变得更轻松。准备一些好的问题和当你遭反问时的答案。每人都会经历紧张的时候,我们需多番尝试。有趣的是,有的人也会被这两类的人吸引。亦有的人会感到极其焦虑,有可能是因为过去一些的经历。例如:曾被异性,家人,朋友,前度所作的评论给贬低; 或谩骂。我们可以拒绝成为这些过去的奴隶吗?答案是「当然可以」-继续寻求神,祂的医治,去祷告,跟身边可靠的朋友或专业的辅导员去倾诉。

在朋友阶段你不该做什么?

这本书所建议的「不应该做的事」十分重要。因为如果你在朋友阶段没有做这些事,在将来就可以在两性关系里优雅地退出,不会有任何伤害,难堪或太多的尴尬。

1. 谨慎选择异性朋友再交换个人通讯资料(电邮地址或电话号码),即使他/她引用知名人士的姓名「我认识谁和谁…」或「我是基督徒」。

2. 不要忽视你的直觉,而错失认识一个人。在同一个团队服事,会使你有机会讨论一些轻松及有趣的话题,令你更能了解对方并给自己一个机会去探索你的直觉。

3. 不要太激烈。如果你在社交媒体上,你和所有朋友的交流应该都是轻松自在的。

4. 不要期待求婚。只是普通朋友!普通朋友应该懂得何时该退让。

5. 不要购买昂贵的礼物!

6. 在肢体语言上的接触要谨慎。虽一些文化会比较接受肢体上的接触,但你要认真考虑在你身处的文化中是适合的吗。在大部分的文化中,肢体接触会被视为对彼此的承诺。

7. 不要调情!调情代表你没有兴趣与对方建立关系,只是在展示你对对方有兴趣而已。

8.不要变得难以让他人接近!总是只和关系良好的朋友在一起, 会让这个圈外的人会很难接近你。

9. 不要故作冷淡!这是不认真的人当作这是游戏。有些人会厌弃这种游戏,并令你错失该人。

10. 你的理想对象清单上不应有难以达到的条件!反而是一些对对方合理的期望,例如:友善,体贴,勤奋等。一些长而仔细具体的条件,例如:外貌,年龄,职业,收入和政治的立场-你会发现,很困难会找到合乎所有条件的人。为何不为生命增添一些神秘探险的元素?

朋友阶段的小建议

1. 寻找新机会开始进展自然的话题。

2. 只是友谊!所以尽可能平等对待所有的男性/女性。 .

3. 如果你有对方的电话号码或电子信箱,请尽量避免传爱心贴图、吻图。请建立自然的友谊关系,不要有浪漫的期待压力。

4. 单单远观对方并不会有任何的开始。请尝试进入对方的世界。接近对方时切勿咄咄逼人,请表现自然。偶尔让对方觉得看起来很自然, 这种看似正常的状态, 有时是需要付出很多努力的。

5. 请记得,有时即使你付出很多努力来靠近你所感兴趣的人, 你也有可能发现他/她对你并没有兴趣。即使你们双方没有浪漫的火花, 但还是彼此的朋友! 在友谊及友情的培养阶段会很辛苦,但却是值得的。请学会建立良好的友谊, 别忘记放手可让彼此建立良好的友谊关系。

Chapter 2: Friends

Friendly people make friends. You don’t have to be an extrovert to be friendly. Even if you find it difficult to approach people, you can at the very least be friendly when someone approaches you. Of course, not all friendships will develop into a romantic relationship, but friendships do give us a good place to start from. Friendships are an opportunity to get to know one another, free from any expectations. This phase involves group gatherings where you can enjoy a lot of friends at the same time.

 

This scripture encourages us to be friendly if we want to have friends. Then, out of a larger group of friends, a smaller group of close friends will develop. However, it’s important to avoid being cliquey. Share yourself around and always be open to make new friends.

Question

Name three qualities you like in a friend:

Your Questions

Question 1

Who should or shouldn’t I consider as a ‘friend’?

Answer 1

Being friendly allows you the opportunity to see who you want as your close friends. If you’re shy, it might be easy to let people decide for you. But, close friends will have a lot of influence on you, either strengthening or weakening you, so it pays to choose wisely.

We tend to make friends with people we share things in common with, like values, interests, thinking, humour, or attitudes we admire. The good things in common can strengthen us. But, someone who is critical, jealous, or vindictive, can have a negative impact on those they call friends.

When we make new friends we also risk rejection. At these times it’s worth considering God your greatest friend. He is for you and is always close to you.That means you are never alone or friendless. He has good friends for you to choose from; in your own way, at the right time, and in the right place. No need to be hasty.

Question 2

What can we do to connect with each other if we belong to different circles of friends?

Answer 2

Be creative!

1. Ask friends to help, without being too obvious: things like orchestrating seating arrangements or introductions based on some common interests – e.g. “Let me introduce you to Lisa, she likes that band too.”

 

2. Suggest that different circles meet for combined events and outings.

 

3. Try non-invasive ways of finding out more about the person you are interested in, like social media – looking at their friends and photos can tell you a lot about the person you are interested in.

 

4. Get to know his/her friends (they could be a helpful source of information and, in some cases, assistance).

 

5. Ask other couples who had to overcome a similar obstacle for advice (helpful tips).

Question 3

I get so nervous I can’t talk to the person I like. How can I get over these feelings?

Answer 3

Most people, even confident people, can feel nervous in the presence of the person they like. In most cases, nerves are part of the process and completely natural. When we’re nervous we

can react in different ways. Some people talk too much, and some people clam-up and don’t talk all.

 

If you’re the type that talks too much you can:

Ask your friend open questions, such as “why” and “how,” which they can answer in one sentence or more. Prepare more rather than less questions;

be a good listener; avoid finishing people’s sentences for them; and avoid looking at your phone because you don’t know what to do.

 

If you’re the type that clams-up then you can:

Take the pressure off by lowering your expectations and aim for friendship only. Face your fears, talk to that wonderful person, and it will get easier from there. Prepare some good questions to ask and think about how you would answer in case your friend flips them back at you. Because we all experience nervousness, we should give people a couple of chances. Funny thing is that some people are attracted to the nervous types that talk too much and some to the types that clam-up.There’s another group of people who feel extreme anxiety, probably caused by the bad experiences in our past. Experiences such as: demeaning comments made by the opposite sex, family, friends, ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend; and or abuse. Can we stop being a slave to the bad experiences in our past? The answer is, “Yes” – seek God, seek healing, seek prayer, seek friendship talk to a trusted friend or a professional counsellor.

What You Shouldn’t Do in the ‘Friends’ Phase

The don’ts in this book are important because it’s what you don’t do during these phases that will allow you, at any point, to back away from the relationship gracefully, without hurt, embarrassment, or awkwardness.

1. Be careful of exchanging personal contact details: especially address or phone number with people you barely know, even if they name drop saying, “I know such and such …” or “I’m a Christian…”

 

2. Don’t ignore your gut feelings and miss out on someone special. Perhaps being part of the same team will give you more insight.

 

3. Don’t be intense on social media, your interaction needs to be casual as it would be with any friend.

 

4. Don’t expect a marriage proposal. Be JUST FRIENDS! Friends know when to back off.

 

5. Don’t buy expensive gifts!

 

6. Don’t assume physical contact is OK with everyone. Some cultures are more comfortable with physical contact between guys and girls than others. Please be guided by what’s considered appropriate in the culture that you live in. In many cultures physical touch is interpreted as a sign of commitment.

 

7. Don’t flirt! Flirting is when you’re showing interest in someone you have no interest in pursuing a relationship with.

 

8. Don’t be inaccessible. Only hanging with your group of friends makes it more difficult for someone outside your group to approach you.

 

9. Don’t play hard to get. That’s when someone makes themselves inaccessible as a kind of game. Some find these games tiresome and those playing them could miss out.

 

10. Don’t have a strict list, but rather a list with reasonable expectations such as; someone who is kind, considerate, hardworking, etc. People with long specific lists such as: specific look, age, career, wage, and political views – will find it hard to meet someone who fit all these requirements. Why not be up for an adventure?

Tips for Friends

1. Look for opportunities to start natural conversations.

 

2. This is just friendship! So please try to treat all the guys/girls as equally as possible.

 

3. If you have that person’s phone mail address, avoid sending text messages with icons of love hearts and kisses. Build friendship naturally without the pressure of romantic expectations.

 

4. Nothing will start if you are just looking at the person from far away. Make a move to place yourself in that person’s world. Don’t be too aggressive in your approach, but be natural. Sometimes, creating a “natural” situations can be a lot of work. But hopefully worth it.

 

5. Remember that you might go to a lot of trouble to try and connect with someone that you are interested in, only to find that he/she is not interested in you. Even though you may have lost in the romance stakes, you have gained a friend! Friendships and the experience that we gain in making them are definitely worth the trouble. Keep learning how to be a good friend! Remember, letting go is part of being a good friend