第三章:特殊朋友

在这个阶段,你已建立了朋友的关系而认为双方是有相互的吸引力的。 也许你有许多亲近的朋友, 但是这位男性/女性对你来说会特别的。在这阶段中,会继续包含一些团体的聚会,可询问对方的家庭背景或异像等问题来更加了解对方。无论任何状况,你都可以观察出对方的整个反映及处理方法。

你可能会问

问题 1

我如何知道那「吸引」是相互的?

答案 1

在团体活动时,你会发现很自然地你们会开始聊天,寻找共同的兴趣,分享彼此的喜好与厌恶。也许透过社群媒体联络彼此的时间也更为频繁,例如他们会花时间回覆你,而当中内容并非简单的回答。

问题 2

我可以被多于一人吸引吗?

答案 2

可以!被多于一人吸引是可能的。但最重要是找谁是最吸引你的。 大多的情况下,我们可以认清谁是能拨动我们心弦,令我们想在他的左右,亦是相互吸引着的。相吸引是说你会在不同的阶段擦出火花。这些当然也包含、外表、性格特征、共同的兴趣、异像等。 在多方面擦出火花会令那人在众人中脱颖而出,但确认相互吸引着后,才会亮起绿灯,可进入下阶段。

问题 3

如果我人生当中的重要人物 (例如连结小组的组长) 告诉我,我或对方目前尚未准备好要踏入恋爱阶段的话,我该如何?

答案 3

这不是你的小组长应该决定的事。如果你的小组长劝你等候的话,通常理由会是你或对方才刚成为基督徒。在你与你的「特殊朋友」坠入情网之前,先坠入耶稣的爱中。先建立坚固的信仰基础,彼此便能建立坚固的关系。要等待多久,这个完全取决于你自己。他人给的都只不过是建议而已。

问题 4

我应该去追求什么样的人?

答案 4

有着相互的吸引和共同的价值观是一个很好的开始。

圣经有着很好的提议:

这并非诫命,而是在建立任何人际关系时的一些建议。神为什么会关心我们与谁成为伙伴?因为祂知道好的伙伴可以成为带来力量和支持的泉源。无论是生意上的合伙关系或是婚姻上的伴侣,最明智的是去观察那人活出的生命,而非相信他的片面之词。看着一个人活出的生命胜于雄辩。那有机会成为你伴侣的人,他的行为又告诉你什么呢?

请再读下列章节:

问题

你怎样将这些经文应用到关系上?

「特殊朋友」的阶段中不应做哪些事

1. 在本阶段切勿着急,请花时间了解对方。

2. 切勿以貌取人。请确认对方的内在是否和外在一样优秀。

3. 请注意!!! 在尚未得知对方的异象、目标、兴趣和内心的态度前,请勿进入下一个阶段。知道多一点内容可助你作任何的决定。

4.社群媒体、电话等互动时间短一点比较妥当 (请事先设定时限)。

5. 切勿期待对方的承诺。

6. 切勿期待求婚。

7. 切勿购买昂贵的礼物!

8. 切勿触摸! 身体接触,请不要超越朋友之间可接受的界线。

给进入「特殊朋友」阶段者的建议:

1. 享受彼此的友谊关系!

2. 互相关心彼此的生活并鼓励对方。

3. 参加对方所参加的活动。

4. 对彼此的兴趣感兴趣。

5. 与对方的朋友成为朋友。

6. 找出彼此有连结的生活领域: 如异象、兴趣、目标等。

7. 如果你想进入下一个阶段,但你还不确定你的「特殊朋友」是否跟你有相同的感受时,你可以询问一些朋友或小组组长,他们或许也可给你良好的意见及帮助。但请记得你的组长并不是你的媒人。他们的意见只是单纯的意见!组长的意见切勿以个人的主观意见或喜好为基础。

Chapter 3: Mutual Attraction

In this phase you have an established friendship but you suspect there is a mutual attraction. This person just stands out from the crowd and you feel drawn to them. This phase continues to involve group gatherings, which will allow you to see how he/she gets on with other people You could ask questions about: background, interests, vision, likes, and dislikes. This will give you an overall more informed impression of who he/she is.

Your Questions

Question 1

How can I gauge if the “attraction” is mutual?

Answer 1

When you’re in a group, you naturally find yourselves talking to each other, discovering common interests, shared likes and dislikes. Also, your interaction on social media is mutual, i.e. they take the time to reply to you, and generally speaking is not a one-word answer.

Question 2

Can I be attracted to more than one person?

Answer 2

Yes, it’s possible to be attracted to more than one person. But I assume that the point is to find the person you’re most attracted to. In most cases, we can identify who that is when we have that overwhelming desire to be with him/her, and the attraction is mutual. Mutual attraction is when you spark on several levels such as; physical appearance, personality traits, common interests, shared goals or vision, etc. Sparking on several levels is what makes someone stand out from the crowd, but mutual attraction is the green light that takes us to the next phase.

Question 3

What if a significant person in my life, for example a Connect Group leader tells me that either I or the other person is not ready for a relationship right now?

Answer 3

This is not your Connect Group leaders decision to make. But, the most common reason a Connect Group leader might suggest you wait, is that either you or the other person is a new believer. I think you would agree, that it’s good for you and your new friend to fall in love with Jesus first. Faith provides a strong foundation for all our relationships. However, at the end of the day, we’re all free to make our own decisions.

Question 4

Who should I pursue?

Answer 4

A good starting place would be someone you share a mutual attraction and some common values with.

The Bible has some good advice for us:

This is not a command, but common sense advice on entering any kind of partnership. Why does God care about our partnerships? Because He knows that a good partnership can be a great
source of strength and empowerment. Whether we are considering going into a business partnership or a marriage partnership, it’s wise to not just take people at their word, but observe their lives. A person’s lifestyle speaks louder than words. What are your potential partner’s actions saying to you?

To find out more on this topic you can also read:

Question

What can you apply to relationships from these scriptures?

What You Shouldn’t Do in This Phase

1. Don’t rush this phase. Take your time! Get to know him/her better.

2. Don’t judge a book by its cover. Check that the content of the book is as good as the cover.

3. Don’t move on to the next phase until you’re confident you know this person well; his or her vision, goals, interests, and attitudes. Knowing some of the “book’s” content will help you make a decision.

4. Keep your time on social media, phone etc. preferably short (pre-set a time limit).

5. Don’t expect commitment.

6. Don’t expect a marriage proposal.

7. Don’t buy expensive gifts!

8. Don’t touch!, beyond that which is acceptable among friends in your context.

Tips for Special Friends

1. Enjoy the friendship!

2. Take an interest in each others’ lives and encourage each other.

3. Attend events that he/she is attending.

4. Take an interest in what they are interested in.

5. Be good friends with his/her friends.

6. Look for connections in different areas of life: vision, interests, goals, etc.

7. If you would like to go to the next phase, but you’re not sure the attraction is mutual, ask people that you trust to help find out (possibly include your Connect Group leader). However, Connect Group leaders are not matchmakers. Their help or advice is just that – advice! Remember to look for advice from people who have a good track record with relationships themselves and are free from personal bias.