第四章: 咖啡時光(一對一)

現階段你和對方都在團體中交流。但進入這個階段是男性邀請女性喝咖啡(一對一)的機會 。在這個階段你可以跟對方示好,並確定彼此的關係是否可以進入下一個階段。請不要讓氣氛變僵,儘量度過快樂的時光。

你可能會問

問題 1

進入下一個階段前,兩人需要進行多少次咖啡時光?

答案 1

沒有限制! 平常是兩至三次,但你覺得適合的話,可增加或減少次數。重要的是需要發覺自己是否想進入下一個階段。

問題 2

在哪個階段你需要告訴你的組長?

答案 2

因為你們未正式在一起,我們建議你只跟你親密的朋友分享。亦可告訴你的聯繫小組組長,特別是一路上有幫助你的。沒有規定一定要跟你的組長說,但說明了會比較有禮貌。

在「咖啡時光」的階段裡,你不應做哪些事情

1. 請勿兩人單獨在任何一方的家中。應選擇公共場合進行咖啡時光。

 

2. 不要永無止境似的花時間在社交媒體或電話上。

 

3. 請勿期待對方的承諾!

 

4. 請勿購買昂貴的禮物!

 

5. 請勿進行身體接觸! 這代表著:不要牽手、不要用你的手勾搭在對方的肩膀上、不要觸摸對方的臉頰、頭髮、親吻額頭或嘴唇。

這一類型的身體接觸,會讓對方產生高度的期待感。「咖啡時光」應該是在於傳達 “我喜歡你” 或者 “我想要更加了解你”的訊息,在這個階段不需要有任何深層的承諾。如果你觸摸對方後又從該關係中抽走的話,有可能會讓對方深感受傷或生氣,對方有可能每次看到你都會瞪你。這不是良好的氣氛,所以在「正式交往」的階段前,請勿有身體接觸喔! 請閱讀下一個章節,確認該如何適當地接觸。

 

6. 請勿為了判斷哪一個人對自己是最合適而同時邀約好幾個對象。

 

7. 不要只談自己的事情!嘗試詢問對方問題,並讓對方回答!例如:你小時候最棒的回憶是什麼?為何? 當對方猶豫如何回答時,也不要插嘴說 “我最棒的回憶是 …”

在你說話前,先給對方思考如何回答的時間。

 

8. 如果你覺得“她不是你要的那個人”那就不要再邀請她去喝咖啡。

 

9. 在度過咖啡時光後,如果她告訴你,你不是她要的對象的話,那就不要再繼續邀請同一個人去喝咖啡。

 

10. 第一次請不要邀請去吃晚餐,午餐或看電影 (保留到之後)。

喝咖啡比較不會太誇張,也較不花錢, 而且用少許的投入就可以了解到其他人。

咖啡時光: 給男性的建議

1. 擁有主導權!

許多女性會為掌握主導權,感到不自在。所以由你作主導是得重要的。當然,會有女性欣然作主導,但只是佔少數的。如果你擔心他會怎樣回應,你可以先做一些功課去減低被拒絕的機會。如問他的朋友,他心儀的對象是誰。如你聽見你的名字,你便可有所行動。

作主導時,你可能感到害怕,但這是不可缺的一部分。但願意作主導和敢於嘗試的男士是值得令人欣賞的。

男士缺乏主導性,會令女士不禁疑惑-他是不太喜歡我嗎?他是害羞嗎?或他只是缺乏自信?又或是在等待我作主導?這會令他擔心,是否每次也要他作主導。對於某些女性來說是冒險的。

 

2. 一旦她答應跟你一對一喝咖啡,就要開始準備愉快的時光,開始在腦中模擬你想問她的問題。這些問題必須輕鬆有趣包含對方的異象、喜好、厭惡、經歷等。配合她的回答,即使出現自己沒準備到的問答,也可以自由詢問看看。但記得設法找些問題是對方能夠輕鬆回答的。不要追究她過去的男女關係或被傷害的經驗等太私人的問題。

不要期待對話會自然發生。要放一點心思在你將要做的事上。作主導的角色!

 

3. 保持良好的禮儀。傾聽對方的話語!

 

4. 保持紳士風度對待女性。鼓勵她,並表示女性優先的態度,您也可以為對方付費等等。

 

5. 請努力讓她覺得你是一個可以信賴、可以信靠、並且和你在一起會有安全感的人。如果你突然取消約會、忘了帶錢包或者你的車票或車鑰匙遺失了,她可能會覺得你很可愛,又或者覺得你是一個不可信靠的人。

 

6. 做你自己! 且不要讓自己過度帶有壓力!

 

7. 做一個親切的人。這代表你是一個風趣,容易親近的人, 且別讓自己過度認真。 如果你能夠放輕鬆這些就自然會發生。如果你無法放輕鬆,即使邀約對方喝了幾次咖啡後,還是感覺很尷尬的話,她有可能就不適合你。

問題

試寫下在咖啡時光,你會想問對方首三至四條問題。

咖啡時光: 給女性的建議

1. 他有可能一開始不太會帶領妳聊天,但是請保持忍耐並給他機會。

 

2. 對於他的想法請保持開放的態度!

 

3. 讓他有兩,三次學習放鬆的機會。

 

4. 好好打扮、呈現你最棒的一面。是跟內在一樣美麗的。

 

5. 做你自己!

 

6. 不要為了追求夢幻且遙不可及的男性幻想而拒絕其他的男性。給男性機會並發掘他的可能性。如此一來,可能有一天你會發現你的心被奪走。也許忠實又英俊的白馬王子實際上是騎著驢的年輕男性。

 

7. 請謹慎切勿與他人比較。 即使你看到有些男性對待他的妻子如公主, 但這些都是因為男性長年累積下來成長後的結果, 並不是一夜之間就變成那樣。也不是他天生就非常了解女性的心。而是透過好幾次的挑戰及失敗 然後致力於了解妻子的需求,才養成如何善待女性的。請將你對男性要求的非現實的條件清單丟掉。保留良好的清單,如他是一個愛神、愛人也愛你的人。

 

8. 不要太招搖去跟你的女性友人訴說你的咖啡時光。即使是良善的朋友,在時機未到時,有可能會造成不必要的轟動。

問題

試寫下在咖啡時光,你會想問對方首三至四條問題。

Chapter 4: Coffee Time (One-on-One)

Up until now all your interaction has been in a group setting. This phase presents an opportunity for a guy to ask a girl out for coffee/tea (one-on-one). The purpose of this phase is to openly reveal your interest in him/her, get to know each other a little more, and gauge whether or not the relationship could go the next level. It doesn’t mean you’re officially in a relationship, so it shouldn’t be too serious, but light and fun.

Your Questions

Question 1

How many coffee times should you have before you move forward?

Answer 1

There are no rules! Generally speaking 2-3 times is the average. But feel free to go more or less as you see fit. The point is to discover if you want to move forward or not.

Question 2

At what stage should I tell people?

Answer 2

Because you’re not officially in a relationship, we would suggest you only tell your closest friends. You could include your Connect Group leader, especially if they played a part along the way. But telling them is not a requirement, but rather a courtesy.

What You Shouldn’t Do in the ‘Coffee Time’ Phase

1. Don’t be alone in someone’s apartment. Coffee should always be in a public place.

 

2. Don’t spend endless hours on social media or phone.

 

3. Don’t expect commitment!

 

4. Don’t buy expensive gifts.

 

5. Don’t touch, or keep it to a minimum. Your arms around her waist, stroking his/her cheek, or kisses on the forehead communicates a high level of commitment.

Coffee Time should communicate “I like you” and “I want to get to know you better.” But there’s no commitment at this phase. However, if you touch and then back away from the  relationship, you could have a very broken  hearted, or angry man/woman glaring at you  every time you see them..( Not a good feeling).  Leave the touching for the ‘In a Relationship’  phase. Look at the next chapter to see what’s appropriate.

 

6. Don’t ask several girls/guys to go out for coffee at the same time to see which one you like best.

 

7. Don’t only talk about yourself, but ask questions such as: ‘What’s your favorite  childhood memory and why?’ When he or she hesitates answering, DON’T jump in and answer the question for them – “My favorite memory is . . .”.

Be patient and give him/her time to think and answer before you speak.

 

8. Don’t ask a girl for coffee a second time if, after the first coffee, you are confident she’s not the right one for you.

 

9. Don’t ask a girl for another coffee time if, after the first coffee, she tells you that she doesn’t feel you’re the right one for her.

 

10. Don’t go out for dinner or a movie at this stage as a one-on-one. Save this for when you’re officially “In a Relationship.”

Coffee time is a low cost, low key way to get to know each other without commitment.

‘Coffee Time’: Tips for Guys

1. Take the initiative!

Most girls feel uncomfortable in taking the initiative, so it’s important you do. Of course, there are some girls who are happy to initiate, but they are in the minority. If you’re worried about how she will respond, you can minimize the risk of rejection by doing a little homework. Ask a friend to ask her who she likes. If she mentions your name then you’re set to go.

While initiating might be scary, it’s hard to shortcut this part of the process. Generally speaking, there is something admirable about a guy who can initiate and take the risk that goes with it.

Lack of initiative, might leave some girls wondering – Is he not that into me? Is he shy? Or is he simply lacking confidence? Or maybe he’s waiting for me to initiate? This is a concern for her because it could be that she will always have to take the initiative. For some girls this is a risk.

 

2. Once she agrees to go out with you, prepare to make the one-on-one experience an enjoyable one for both of you. Rehearse in your mind the sorts of questions you would like to ask her. The quest-
ions should be light and fun, regarding vision, likes/dislikes, and background stories. The answers will generate more questions, so feel free to ask questions you didn’t prepare to ask. But remember
to keep it light and fun; don’t ask deeply personal questions about past relationships or hurtful experiences.

Don’t expect the conversation will just happen. Put some effort and thought into what you do together. Take the lead!

 

3. Be a courteous communicator. Talk and listen!

 

4. Be a gentleman! Be complementary, open heavy doors for her, and let her have the best seat in the coffee house. However, picking up the bill is optional at this stage.

 

5. Try to be reliable, someone she can count on and will feel secure with. If you cancel appointments, forget your wallet, or lose your train pass/car keys, she might think you’re adorable, or she might feel she can’t rely on you.

 

6. Be yourself! And try not to put too much pressure on yourself!

 

7. Be personable, that means you are able to let your guard down and don’t take your self too seriously. This will naturally happen when you’re feeling relaxed. If after a few ‘coffee times’ you don’t feel relaxed, then it could mean that she’s not the right one for you.

Question

Write down the top 3–4 questions you would like to ask.

‘Coffee Time’: Tips for Girls

1. If a guy has difficulty leading the conversation, please be patient and give him a chance.

 

2. Be open to his ideas!

 

3. Give him a couple of chances to learn to relax.

 

4. Dress up, wear make up, and generally look your best. Make the outside as beautiful as the inside.

 

5. Be yourself!

 

6. Don’t turn every guy away because you have your sights set on an impossible dream. Give the guy a chance and look at him with an eye to discover potential. That handsome prince that burst on to the scene on his faithful white steed to sweep you off your feet, might look more like a young guy riding on a donkey.

 

7. Be careful of comparisons. That guy that you saw treating his wife like a cherished princess, has had many years of coaching from his “princess wife”. He didn’t get to be that good overnight. He wasn’t born with an incredible insight into women. He gained insight through trial and error, and a commitment to getting to know his wife’s needs over time. So do away with any unrealistic lists of things you want in a man. A good list would be – he loves God, loves people, loves you.

 

8. Try not to broadcast your coffee time to too many of your girlfriends. Well-meaning friends could stir things up prematurely.

Question

Write down the top 3-4 questions you would like to ask during Coffee Time