第六章:订婚

订婚是情侣要公开表示有结婚意志, 并双方决定想共度未来的时候。在婚约公开前双方彼此都得到父母的认可及祝福,而你的挚友也觉得 (是的!你们双方很相配)。男方会赠送婚戒给女方,然后开始准备婚礼。

在生长环境及背景等都完全不同的两人决定合而为一的阶段里,会有挑战的出现,但这是正常的。

你可能会问

问题 1

订婚后,身体接触的界线可以放宽吗?

答案 1

不可!但这是好的机会去重新审视你们在身体接触上设定的界线。在这阶段,应该是更加严谨的去遵守,而不是去放宽。记得,要保持纯洁。有的婚者会在最后阶段解除婚约,所以要保持纯洁到最后,向上帝表达敬意,便可带着诚实各自向前迈进。为了未来双方能称为夫妻,并成为对方特别的伴侣要各自保持性纯洁。

问题 2

在交往阶段如果有超越(性关系)的行为,单方或双方发现不爱对方时,是否还要结婚?

答案 2

否! 你应该听过 「负负不一定得正」。这句谚语十足表现了这个状况。也就是说你不能用结婚来让这个状况变成对的。你所结婚的对象必须完全接受你的爱,你也完全接受对方的爱。两者的关系只有单方面的爱是不够的。另外两者的关系也不可以用性爱手段来控制对方。所以如果你犯了错(即使已经怀孕了) 必须要忏悔并洁净。在这种情况下,你和男方或者女方也许并不是肯定会结婚,但是无论你们结不结婚,都必须:

忏悔、原谅、医治、清洁。

如果没有做这些的话,道德失败的伤痛经验会带入你的下一个关系里。

在订婚阶段该注意的事项:

1. 不要活在两人的世界。要和朋友有交流。

2. 请避免两人单独在家里。为此,你可以邀请朋友一起来家里玩,朋友要回家时,你也回家。

3. 不要放宽身体接触的界线。交往期间要保持纯洁,让彼此架构在信赖, 有安全感及忠实上。此外也将这些带入你的婚姻生活中。如果交往期间控制住的话,在婚后,当别人诱惑你时,你也会自我控制。你的另一半在受到诱惑的压力下如何处理,你就不必要用怀疑的眼光来看对方!

4. 不要完全让你未来的另一半自己准备婚礼。要分担工作,两人一起负责并度过这个欢乐的时光。

给订婚者的建议:

1. 我们建议订婚期间短一点。因为在这个阶段,肉体吸引会特别强烈,也较危险。等待的时间越长,越无法等候。所以这段期间不要拖太久,不要让自己陷入不必要的压力及诱惑。

2.继续保持界线非常重要!
许多情侣在这个阶段会超出行为,不小心犯错。他们认为「哦,我们很快就会结婚,所以没关系啦,对吧?!」

在这个圣经章节里的「不道德的性行为」在新约圣经的希腊原文翻成英文叫做「Porneos」,意思是婚姻外的所有性行为 。

神创造了性,这原意是非常棒的。在圣经的雅歌书里有写到,并称赞在婚约里的性关系是最完全的。内容无论是谁看到都会感到愉悦! 但是这只被允许在婚姻之中! 只有在婚姻中,我们才能在自己的肉体上荣耀神!

3. 分享你的薪水资讯。

4. 我们鼓励所有订婚的情侣都从教会的「婚姻辅导团队」中选出1组已婚的夫妻档,与他们一起上「婚姻准备手册」。我们不仅希望情侣能够准备完美的婚礼,也冀望他们能够预备美妙的婚姻生活。

问题

你会想定睛在订婚的哪些的范畴上呢?

Chapter 6: Engagement

This is when the couple publicly declares their intention to get married. They have come to the mutual decision that they want to spend the rest of their lives together. Prior to this public declaration, they obtained the blessing of their parents, and their friends agree that they are great for each other. Once the guy presents the girl with an engagement ring, the happy couple then set about planning the wedding day.

The process of merging two very different people together and their families – with all the background and culture – can prove very challenging, but not unusual.

Your Questions

Question 1

Now that we are engaged, can we relax our physical boundaries?

Answer 1

No! But this is a good time to revise your physical boundaries. Most couples during this phase should be tightening their boundaries rather than relaxing them. Remember, do whatever it takes to keep pure. There are couples who have broken their engagement at the last minute, but because they kept pure until the end they were able to go their separate ways with integrity. Having honored each other and God, they were able to save themselves sexually for that special someone they would call husband/wife.

Question 2

If we went too far (physically) at any point during our relationship, but later discover that either one or both don’t love each other, do we have to get married?

Answer 2

No! You’ve heard the saying “two wrongs don’t make a right”. That’s really true in this situation.It means you can’t fix the situation by getting married. The person that you marry deserves someone
that loves them completely, and you deserve someone who loves you completely. It’s not enough for only one person in the relationship to do all the loving, and sex should NOT be used to manipulate a relationship. So if you have done the wrong thing, even resulting in pregnancy, come clean and confess. You may NOT need to marry the guy/girl in this case but whether you do or not, you will definitely need:

Repentance, Forgiveness, Healing, and Cleansing.

Without these you could be taking the pain of a moral failure into the next relationship. While God’s grace is not a license to do the wrong thing, it is the key to a new beginning.

What you Shouldn’t do in the ‘Engagement’ Phase

1. Don’t be strangers. Keep mixing with your friends.

2. Don’t hang out alone in each other’s apartments. Have friends over and leave when the friends leave.

3. Don’t relax your physical boundaries. Purity during your relationship builds trust, security and faithfulness that extend into marriage. If you have self-control (discipline) during your relationship, then you will have self-control when you are married and someone outside your marriage tempts you. And you won’t need to feel suspicious of how your partner will respond under pressure!

4. Don’t leave all the wedding arrangements for your fiance to organize. Share the responsibilities and enjoy this time together.

Tips for Engagement

1. We recommend a short engagement. Physical attraction can be pretty intense during this phase and the longer you have to wait the harder it gets. So don’t put unnecessary pressure/temptation on yourselves by making this period too long

2. It’s important that you continue to maintain your boundaries! Many couples make the mistake of going too far during this phase. They rationalize: “Oh, we will get married soon, so it’s OK, isn’t it?”

Here, the New Testament Greek: ‘Porneos’ means all forms of sexual activity outside of marriage, translated in this scripture as sexual immorality.

Now, just to bring a balance, God isn’t prudish about sex. He created it and made it ‘very, very good.’ There is a whole book in the Bible dedicated to this subject, celebrating its fullest expression in marriage. It’s called ‘Song of Solomon’ and it’s enough to make anyone blush and sing. It’s an honest and beautiful picture of how we can honor each other and God with our bodies.

3. Share your finances/salary information.

4. We encourage all engaged couples to go through a marriage preparation course, or some kind of marriage workshop to help them get off to a great start. We don’t just want to see couples prepare for a great wedding day, but we want to see them prepare for a great marriage.

Question

What areas of the engagement process you would like to focus on?