第九章: 享受快乐的单身生活

使徒保罗的话,指的是无论在人生中的什么阶段,都要以满怀的感恩及喜乐的态度对待。
我相信这段话语也同样适用于单身状态。

当你单身时,不该做什么:

1. 不要对单身这件事有负面的思想! 如果你把焦点放在你尚未拥有的事上,你便会开始自怜自艾,你也会错过你现在所拥有的好事情。

 

2. 请勿期待婚后可解决你现在所有的问题。单身的你和婚后的你是不变的。结婚不会改变所有事情, 结婚不会改变你自己本身。只有你和神的帮助,才能够改变你自己。

 

3. 不要看到男性或女性就立刻评判对方是否有希望成为你另一半的候补人员。请敞开你的心,尊敬并友善对待所有人。

 

4. 当其他人找到另一半时,不要嫉妒他们,与他们一同喜乐,这是好朋友该有的态度。

 

5. 不要把自己孤立起来!也不要只围绕在你的舒适圈内 (或朋友圈内)。

 

6. 不要把自己与他人作比较,神有不同的计划给我们每一位。

 

7. 不要急于改变现状。不要不经过思考就盲目地进入男女关系。与其事后后悔这段关系还不如单身比较好。

你可能会问

问题 1

男性或女性终生单身是好的吗?

回答 1

当时的年代也曾被问过这个问题 … 而该答案很简单。结婚或单身两者皆可。那么你本身对这个问题有何感想?你是否能够毫无肉体亲密关系而终其一身?倘若你尝试活在没有肉体的亲密关系中,但这却会让你陷入不道德的行为时,那你结婚比较好。这样看来无论单身或结婚都是来自神的恩赐。不要努力尝试得到这个恩赐,只要知道你是否有这个恩赐或你是否能活在没有肉体亲密关系下即可。

问题 2

单身的男性及女性基督徒可以选择自慰吗?

回答 2

圣经里面并没有提到自慰的问题。但是,圣经上有提到我们如何使用想像力。

如果你色眯眯的看着某人,就会产生幻想。而耶稣在这里所说的是我们必须要对我们的幻想负责。以下是我个人的意见, 自慰是可以的,但是不能超过圣经章节里所制定的界线。也就是说,你不能将你所认识的人放进你的幻想框架内来自慰,或使用A片,黄色书刊。也许有人会说「这根本不可能」如果你有这样感觉,那你就不该自慰。

问题 3

我已经超过30岁的后半期且未婚。对你网上配对服务有什么看法?

回答 3

对这选择保持开放,但要警惕网上配对服务。如果您选择此选项,请小心共享个人信息(例如家庭和工作地址),并在公共场所见面。不幸的是,也有掠食者也在使用这些服务,其中一些可能很危险。您在自己舒适的家中可能看似很简容易进行简单的搜寻,但是到某个时候你需要亲自见面,互联网上的人都是练习过并表现出最佳行为,直到你见面看到他们时,你才真正知道他们是怎样的,又可看见他们的分别及他们与别人互动方式等。

依我的观察,人们到了30岁末曾拒绝了在真实世界中对他们感兴趣认识的人,因为他们觉得「他们不够酷和服装仪容不太妥当」和可能「没有赚很多金钱」等等。有兴的是网上配对可能同样达不到期望(除非您还不知道)。我们还必须认知色情书籍和影片的破坏,定下不切实际的期望。

我们给这样的人们建议:你应该给予对方机会。像我们这些很年轻就结婚的人,多半一开始也不是特别酷、穿着仪容也不是很有格调、可能收入也不是很高。但是因为他们相信他们的个性和看见潜能,我们依旧选择跟对方结婚;他们一起花时间去改变和改善可以成长的领域。我们的观点是给机会予那个有个性,潜能,懂变通的,愿意敞开心改变自己的人。

.

给单身者的建议:

1. 定睛在你现在所拥有的,然后在下列的领域中建立坚固的跟基:

     

  • 与神和别人的关系
  •  

  • 服侍他人
  •  

  • 灵修和祷告
  •  

  • 喜乐
  •  

  • 个性
  •  

  • 工作/职业
  •  

  • 财务管理

让你自己在这些领域中展现出最棒的自己, 如此一来,未来就会有最棒的对象被你的魅力所吸引。

 

2. 聚焦在别人身上! 这是正确的动机。这也是神会祝福的动机。

恋爱关系不是你可以从对方那里得到什么;而是你可以给对方你最棒的东西。所以在单身时就要开始练习给予别人。成为最棒的自己,就能给别人最棒的。

 

3. 首先喜欢你自己: 拥有健全的自尊心。请了解你的创造主。要知道是神最棒的杰作。

 

4. 跳出你的好友圈。无论年龄、性别、背景或国籍,试着计画认识新朋友。

 

5. 灵修及简单的祷告会帮助你了解神给你人生的旨意及计画。神为你制定的计画是很好的,而且是超乎你所想像的,所以,准备好接收神赐给你的计划。

 

6. 依靠神而不是依靠人。人都不完美,无法满足我们的感情需求及期待。如果你仰望男友或女友,期待对方来满足你的感情的话,当对方无法满足你的内心需求时,你就会产生失望。或者当你发现对方无法回应你饥渴的爱情或期许时,就会吓到对方,让他有想远离你的风险。所以要依靠上帝完美的爱,透过灵修及祷告来解决你所要寻找的对象,才能够满足你的需求。

 

7. 将色情物品视为敌人,这些都透过提供即时的性替代品并定立不切实际的期望来,具有阻止人们建立长久关系的能力。在现实生活中,没有即时发生的事情,并且人们无法完美地上演以满足您的需求。在现实生活中,我们必须合作,谈判,沟通,并且我敢说是:委身。但与某人分享你的生命是如此的充实和愉快的,是值回所有的付出。

以下是一些击退色情物品的策略:

     

  • 认知到你被诱惑并设定界限
  •  

  • 寻找可以与您交谈的人,而他会担起定时提醒你的责任
  •  

  • 在手机和电脑上下载应用程式,过滤所有色情图片和作品
  •  

  • 在观看电影之前,先检查电影的评论和评分
  •  

  • 继续祷告,如果有软弱的时刻,不要感到会被谴责。马上从回并加强你已设的界限

8. 享受「单身」。你单身的时间,其实在你的人生当中只占据一小部分,所以要好好地享受这段时间。

问题

你享受单身的什么呢?

Chapter 9: Happy Being Single

The apostle Paul’s words speak about having an attitude of gratitude and contentment in whatever state of life we find ourselves in.

I really believe we can apply these words to the subject of being single.

What You Shouldn’t Do When You Are ‘Single’

1. Don’t focus on being single as a negative! If you focus on what you haven’t got, you will start to feel sorry for yourself and you will miss seeing the good things which you do have right now.

 

2. Don’t expect marriage to solve all your problems. Who you are when you are single is who you will be when you are married. Marriage won’t change everything, it won’t change who you are. Only you, with God’s help, can change who you are.

 

3. Don’t look at guys/girls that you meet, as potential and non-potential. Be respectful and friendly to everyone and keep an open mind.

 

4. Don’t be jealous when others find a partner, but rejoice with them. This is what good friends do.

 

5. Don’t isolate yourself! Don’t be stuck in your own circle of comfort (friends). Don’t compare yourself with others. God has a different plan for all of us.

 

6. Don’t compare yourself with others. God has a different plan for all of us.

 

7. Don’t be in such a hurry to change your circumstances that you rush blindly into a relationship without giving it the necessary consideration. It is better to be single than in a relationship you later regret.

Your Questions

Question 1

Is it good for a man/woman to remain single?

Answer 1

It seems this question was being asked back in the day … and the answer is simple; it is both good to be married and it’s also good to remain single. The question for you is – are you physically able to live all your life without sexual intimacy? If trying to live without it leads you into immorality, then its better that you marry. It seems that to be single or married is a gift, you don’t have to try too hard to receive a gift, you either have it or you don’t, you’re either able or not able.

Question 2

Is masturbation an option for single Christian guys/girls?

Answer 2

There is nothing in the Bible that addresses the subject of masturbation. However the Bible does address the subject of how we use our imagination.

To look at someone lustfully requires imagination. And what Jesus is saying here is that we will be held responsible for how we use our imagination. It is my personal opinion that masturbation is ok as long as it does not break the limitations set out for us by this scripture. That means, you can’t drop an image of someone that you know into the framework of your imagination, nor can you use pornography. Some people might say ‘that’s impossible!’ If you feel that way, then masturbation is not for you.

Question 3

I’m in my late 30s and not married. What do you think of internet matchmaking services?

Answer 3

Keep your options open but be wary of Internet matchmaking services. If you’re set on this option, be careful of sharing personal information – like home and work address – and always meet in public places.Unfortunately, there are predators using these services too, and some of them could be dangerous. It might seem like an easy search you can make from the comfort of your own home, but at some point you will need to meet in person. People on the Internet are rehearsed and on their best behavior. You don’t really know what they’re like until you meet and see them in
different settings and how they interact with other people etc.

On closer observation, some people in their late 30’s have turned down expressions of interest from people they know in the real world, because they feel: they’re not cool or well dressed enough, or don’t earn enough money, etc. Interestingly, the Internet matches might equally fall short of expectations (except you don’t know it yet). We must also acknowledge the destructive role of pornography when it comes to setting unrealistic expectations.

Our advice is to give the people you know a chance. Those who married early, married someone who wasn’t particularly cool or well dressed, and probably didn’t earn a lot of money, but married them anyway because they were confident about the person’s character and saw potential. They were prepared to work together on the things that could improve or change. In our opinion, look for someone who has character, potential, flexibility, and is open to change.

 

Tips for Singles

1. Focus on what you do have now and on building a strong foundation in the following areas:

  • Relationship with God and People
  • Serving Others
  • Journaling and Prayer
  • Joyfulness
  • Character
  • Work/Career
  • Finance

Be the best that you can be in these areas, so that you can attract the best partner.

 

2. Focus on others! This is the right motivation. This is the motivation that God blesses.

It is not about you and what you can get from a relationship but it’s about giving the best that you can give to someone else. So start practicing while you are still single. Be the best, so you can give the best.

 

3. Like who you are – have a healthy self esteem. Know your creator, know that you are his masterpiece, and know that his work is marvelous – YOU.

 

4. Break out of your circle of friends. Have a plan to meet new people, regardless of what age, background, or nationality.

 

5. Journaling and simple prayer will help you recognize God’s will and plan for your life. God’s plans for you are good and better than you can imagine. So prepare to receive the plans God has for you.

 

6. Be dependent on God, not on people.People are not perfect and they can’t live up to all your expectations or satisfy all your emotional needs. If you’re looking for someone to do that you’ll be disappointed and risk scaring them away when they realize there’s no way to satisfy you. So turn to God for what you need. His love is perfect and always satisfies.

 

7. See pornography as an enemy. It has the power to prevent people from entering into a lasting relationship. It does this by providing an instant sexual substitute, and setting unrealistic expectations. In real life, nothing happens instantly, and people are not perfectly staged to meet your desires. In real life, we have to collaborate, negotiate, communicate, and dare I say it, sacrifice. But having someone to share your life with is so fulfilling and enjoyable, it’s worth all the effort.

Here are some strategies to fight pornography:

  •  Recognize you are tempted and set boundaries.
  •  Find someone you can talk to and who will hold you accountable at a determined frequency.
  • Download a program on your phone and computer to filter out any pornographic images.
  • Check reviews and ratings on movies before you watch them.
  • Keep praying and don’t feel condemned if you have moments of weakness. Just get right back to reinforcing your boundaries.

 

8. Enjoy being ‘Single’. In the scheme of a person’s whole life, the single part is relatively short. Make the most of it.

Question

What do you enjoy about being single?